If You Don’t Have Your Health - Tara J. Agen

Talking Trends
3 min readJul 9, 2024

--

This digital painting created by Tara Agen is enhanced by GenAI as part of her Health is Wealth collection: https://www.tarajagen.art

The adage “If you don’t have your health, you don’t have anything” resonates deeply with the profound truth it holds for me. Since my health ‘adventure’ in 2019, health has become my most cherished achievement in this lifetime.

Focusing on my physical health has provided me the energy and vitality to engage in life’s pursuits — both pre- and especially post-my corporate career. Not having my full health was the wake-up call I needed to reassess and relook at my life’s priorities.

My physical health has been deeply connected to my mental and emotional well-being. Having a sounder mind fostered resilience and elevated my creativity to take on the capacity I have to give, live, and create.

That fragile and unknowing state in July 2019 has given me another life of true gratitude for each day of living well physically, mentally, and spiritually. I pivoted to prioritizing self-care, seeking deeper meditation for more mindfulness and balance, and cultivating both eating and physical workout habits that promoted longevity and vitality. 💪 I had a goal to be the strongest I could be. In 2022, I attended an event where someone spoke about living till age 104. After that session, I made a commitment to myself to want to live to 103 just like my maternal grandmother did. She enabled a consistent approach to life with big moments of joy. She overcame intense obstacles, especially surviving as a Polish migrant worker in Germany during WWI. She came to the United States before WWII with a dream of a better life for herself. She appreciated everything about her life and got through the tough parts with laughter, lightheartedness, and positive perseverance. I have channeled her wisdom and humbleness so much throughout my lifetime, especially during those uncertain Summer days in 2019, and I continue to do so today.

Surviving two major health situations that year catapulted me to embrace a lifestyle centered around nurturing myself. I did this not out of fear, but out of gratitude for the “better to best” functioning of me in my healthier body. Today, I prioritize preventive care. I have slowed down my pace to make sure I catch the essence of what is good and what I can appreciate more in that moment of being a healthier me.

Each day since I wake up feeling health is the greatest gift I have received. My good health is a constant reminder to live fully, to cherish the vitality that enables me to focus and pursue my artistic life and passionately contribute to the world around me with what I create and share.

These experiences have deepened my empathy for others facing health challenges. If there is anything you take away from my journey, let it be to take a breath, and take steps to being healthy one day at a time. If you are inspired by my story, please enjoy my art and especially my “Health is Wealth” series at https://www.tarajagen.art

***

Tara J. Agen is a future-focused, creative collaborator with a capacity for 360-degree problem-solving. Having led huge business transformations and driven organic growth for years, Tara is an inspirational expert at guiding strategy from inception through execution as well as attracting, developing, and retaining talent. Agen is a holistic communicator who creates win-win situations; Tara is an optimist.

--

--

Talking Trends

Talking trends is a platform for people with a story to tell.